Composure

“Catch me if you can. Catch me if you think you can truly explore the depths of who I am, free of limitations, free of the demons that you think hold me back. And for the record, they aren’t demons, they are the angels that keep above me, making certain that I take care of myself when nobody else ever had.  Perhaps you don’t understand it now, but be careful of what you can’t comprehend— it can come back to bite you in the ass. You’ll wish you learned, you all will. And just because I may be crazy and loud with others, but as calm at a summer sunset on my own, it never means that I know myself any less than the most intelligent person in the world. I am the lights that guide the lost in the night sky, and the clouds that hide the sun to prepare those who are burnt from overexposure. They all have ideas on what I am: I am a cure, I am an illness, I am the sun, I am the moon, I am the good, I am the bad. But whatever you think I am, that is exactly what I am not.”

Monologue by S.R

Leave a comment